Stuff Made from Stuff

Out of Yarn?

Posted on: January 9, 2012

Last winter I sat in a living room surrounded by 4 young women, beautiful young women, all knitting…it’s clearly not Grandma’s thing anymore.  But I think we can all agree that plastic shopping bags are not so cool, luckily artists have discovered that plastic bags make yarn in a cool, inexpensive way.   I decided to give plastic bag yarn making a try, using these instructions. Note: normally I would not have plastic bags, but I am living in a world of no reusable bags, if you are a reusable bag user but are interested in this new yarn, let me know, I’ll make you a strand.

The knitted, plastic bag, bag featured in the photo was purchased in Livingston, Zambia while I was on holiday, I paid about 16USD for it (I am not the best a bargaining). There are art projects around the globe that knit with plastic bags aka plarn.

Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

